window dressing


Bejeweled & Bedazzled
August 26, 2009, 3:24 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

I admit, I have not jumped on the leggings/tights trend. I consider them every now and then, and I did see a little tunic/dress today that I thought some super soft leggings from Splendid would be cute with. If I had to buy some, and money were no object, I think I would definitely check these different legwear options out, from the Fall 2009 RTW runways of Louis Vuitton and Miu Miu. Check out the detailing on these!

louisvuitton09fallTrue, it’s a little much all together, but let’s think of it more about the artistry rather than something you would see on the street. I wish I could’ve found a better-detailed photo of these Marc Jacobs-designed leggings — they really are spectacular.

And then there are these Miu Miu lovelies, designed by Miuccia Prada. I love these! Metallic pailettes and clusters… divine.detailmiu09hoseThose shoes aren’t too bad either.

detailmiu09skirtSimilar detailing on a skirt at the Miu Miu show.

detailmiufall09hosemiufall09Here’s the ensemble all together. Over-the-top, but each piece is amazing on its own.

miufall09blackSubtle detailing on the tights here, with the deep wine colored blouse and black skirt. Again, loooove the shoes.

miufall09nudesI wonder if these will break through to mainstream retailers in some way.

J.Crew has been showing models in heavy weight tights with short shorts. Now there’s a trend I’m going to run far, far away from!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Rachel. I am quite sure that I am the ying to your yang. Give me skinny jeans (so not MOM jeans unless they have a 12 inch zipper from waist to crotch) and bring on the heavy wool tights with short shorts (however, with J Crew catching on to this aesthetic makes it a little less appealing, yet validating to me). But I think something we share is the ability to make a statement and appreciate a point-of-view. xoxo!

Comment by Kathleen

Ok, the thing is, you can totally pull this off. You totally have the rocker chick vibe going on, and I sooooo do not. I love the way you dress — it’s all you!

Oh, and the other reason you won’t catch me in this look is because I’m not itty bitty skinny. If I were, you better believe I’d be all over the tights w/ shorts look! It’s because of what childbirth and cellulite have done to my body. 🙂

Comment by rachelshingleton

But your taste and style is always impeccable! Even when you’re just wearing a white v-neck and jeans (like the time I came over to grab boxes from you). That’s why I’m saying that my trendy-rocker (sometimes a little boho) vibe is the ying to your J Crew American-Classic (yet Parisian chic) yang.

The important thing (to us designers and fashionistas is expressing a point-of-view through fashion. I can’t imagine being any other way.

Anyways, I love that you’re doing this blog! I need a Lola of my own!

Comment by Kathleen




Leave a Reply

